Back to Blogging

I have been away from blogging for quite some time.  Much of my time is spent homeschooling my two boys, who are in Kindergarten and 2nd grade.  My 2nd grader, who has Asperger Syndrome, presents mainly behavioral challenges while he generally excels in academics.  My kindergartner seems to be a bit of a late bloomer when it comes to academic skills, but he is making very good progress at his own pace.  This is my third year homeschooling with my oldest, but this has been my first year homeschooling both the boys.

Lately I have developed an interest in Twitter, which I have found to be a great way to connect with other moms with common interests.  Many of the moms that I follow on Twitter have blogs which they update frequently.  I have wanted to start blogging again, but felt that I lacked a specific focus.  Until I read this blog, originally titled “7 Step Recipe for Creating an Autistic Child.”  Many of the ingredients in this “recipe” are derived from choices that mothers make during pregnancy, birth, and the care of their infants, many of which are endorsed heartily by the vast majority of health care providers.   On the surface, the list of “ingredients” seems harsh and judgmental, but truly this is a challenge,  a call to action.

This is the direction that I needed, a topic that I feel quite passionate about and one that has directly impacted our family on a personal  level.  Autism is preventable.  For all the research that has been done looking for an “autism gene,” genetics only accounts for a tiny percentage of what now affects at least 1 child in a hundred.  Since our firstborn son was diagnosed with Asperger Syndrome at age 5, it has haunted me.  Was it the tuna I ate when I was pregnant with him?  Something in the water or the air?  Was it vaccines?  Refinishing a piece of baby furniture?  Was he injured during birth?  In all likelihood, it was a combination of many factors along with some type of genetic susceptibility.  I will never know and I can’t go back and change them.  But I can research, I can learn, and I can share what I discover.  This is the new focus of my blog, and I hope that I can use it to make a difference for others.

Leave a Reply

